When a document is saved, the previous version will be overwritten. But first the old version is moved to the recycle bin. All versions are 'saved' there. To delete them permanently, just empty the recycle bin.
This way, an accidentally overwritten file can be restored.
'Back-up to recycle bin' can be turned off. It is a setting.